Charles Ivan Punchatz


To request a score click here.


Miniatures on Mozart’s “Seraglio”, K. 348 (2010) 7’
for piano four-hands
premiered April 27th, 2010 by William Pearson and Jackie Yang

Music for Four Timpani Players (2009) 7’21”
for four percussionists
premiered December 1st, 2009 by Ching-Ping Wang, Mathew Gaffney, Zachary Nayer, and Masako Kunimoto

Music for String Quartet (2009) 5’
for two violins, viola, and cello
commissioned by the Carlsbad Music Festival
premiered September 26th, 2009 by the Calder Quartet

Nine Movements for Bassoon and Cello (2009) 12’30”
for bassoon and cello
premiered April 5th, 2009 by Archie Carey and Elizabeth Cook

Seven Studies and Four Canons for Eight Triangles (2008) 14’
for two percussionists
premiered April 5th, 2009 by Mathew Gaffney and Phil Gallo

Guitar Trio (2008) 12’
for three microtonally tuned guitars

Music for Tuba Quartet (2008) 9’25”
for four tubas
premiered March 4th, 2008 by Santino Lo, Susan Wheatley, Barney Johnson, and Ken Sickler

String Quartet (2007/2008) 7’15”
for two violins, viola, and cello
premiered April 10th, 2008 by the iO Quartet

The Poetry Behind the Application of These Sounds (2007) 22’
for musical saw or violin and prepared piano
premiered December 18th, 2008 by Don Yao and Ipek Brooks

Three Movements for Flute and Vibraphone (2006) 13’
for flute (piccolo, alto, and bass flutes) and percussion
premiered December 13th, 2006 by Alice Jones and Chris Bonacorsa

Saxophone Quartet, In the Shadow of Venetian Blinds (2005) 19’
for soprano, alto, tenor, and baritone saxophones

A Beleza de Amazonia (2005) 16’
for eight percussionists


Tape Composition No. 7 (2010) 13’30’’
for tape
premiered May 1st, 2010 with choreography by David Scarantino

Tape Composition No. 6 (2009) 3’02’’
for tape

Tape Composition No. 5 (2009) 1’45’’
for tape

Tape Composition No. 4a (2009) 2’
for tape

Tape Composition No. 4b (2009) 2’
for tape

Tape Composition No. 3 (2009) 45”
for tape

Fugue for Two Wahs (2008) (collaboration with Sean Harold) 3’20”
for live electronics
premiered December 11th, 2008 by Charles Punchatz and Sean Harold

Specter Dream Music: Compositions 454c & 650a; A Simultaneous Performance of One or More Works (But Most Likely Just Several) Written Between the Years 1994 & 2006 (2008) (collaboration with Sean Harold) 4’59’’
for live electronics
premiered November 20th, 2008 by Charles Punchatz and Sean Harold

Tape Composition No. 2 (2008) 2’29”
for tape

Tape Composition No. 1 (2008) 1’18”
for tape


Reckless (2010) 15’
music for the film Reckless by John Nesbitt

Alaskan Thunder (2008) (collaboration with Sean Harold) 10’15”
music for the film Land by Shan Huang


Music for Chamber Orchestra (2009) 6’
for 21 players (3, 1, 1, 1 – 1, 0, 0, 1, 2 perc., 2 guitar, 2 piano, 3/2/1/1)
premiered April 28th, 2009 by Dominic Donato and the Purchase Contemporary Ensemble


Chorale for Organ (2013) 11'23"
for microtonally tuned electric keyboard
premiered May 11th, 2013 by Jonathan Evers

Miniatures for Electric Guitar (2013) 6'05"
for guitar
premiered May 11th, 2013 by Daniel Slyfield

For Solo Percussion (2013) 5'30"
for solo percussion
premiered May 11th, 2013 by Alan Buxbaum

Music for Double Bass (2013) 7'30"
for solo bass
premiered May 11th, 2013 by Laura Bunker

Solo for Clarinet (2010) 6’
for solo clarinet

Three Pieces for Guitar (on John Dowland’s “I Saw My Lady Weep”) (2008) 6’
for solo guitar
premiered December 2nd, 2008 by Marc Wolf

Study for solo piano (2007) 5’25”
for solo piano
premiered April 5th, 2009 by Lisa Fink


The Pool (2009) 2’
for voice and piano
text by H.D.

(Pangram; Irresolute) (2007) 4’20”
for voice and piano
text by Devorah Fischler
premiered April 5th, 2009 by Erin Pellnat and Lisa Fink

Charles Ivan Punchatz